Blog

Key Guide

CTM = Crime, Thriller, Mystery Genre Authors

ROF = Romance and Other Fiction Authors

Kat's Review of The Lie by C L Taylor

Posted on

0 Comments

Kat's Rating: 5/5

Available: Released 23 April 2015 - Kindle, Paperback, Kobo, Nook

Synopsis: This was no accident…Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter. I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist. Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women. Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . .<BLOG_TOUR>

My Review: OMG! I read the last book by Cally Taylor ‘The Accident’ and loved it. If I’m being honest I didn’t read the synopsis, I just liked the cover and got stuck in. It seemed such a straightforward opening to the book. We meet Jane whilst she works in an animal sanctuary and has to deal with all sorts of people. But Jane it turns out is just a cover name for the girl that came back from a holiday with friends a changed woman. OMG even writing it makes me get goose bumps now I’ve read it!

The book is fabulous and as soon as the basic introduction is done and we have a bot of background we shoot straight back to five years prior as 4 girls set out on what should be the holiday of a lifetime. They are planning to visit Nepal and spend weeks dancing, drinking and enjoying their break. What is uncovered is frankly creepy. I am really pushed to NOT mention any more about the storyline because it will definitely ruin it for people.

What I will say is that when I say the book is creepy, I don’t mean ‘hiding under the bed creepy’. What I mean is there is an element of “that ‘could’ happen”…if you know what I mean! This is a real mix of the past becoming more and more of a problem, and in the meantime the present becoming more menacing for Jane as she truly believes somebody wants her dead. In addition to the sheer brilliance of the storyline were the characters. The three friends I managed to have a very solid opinion on very quickly. I absolutely HATED Daisy and Leanne and liked Al. I almost felt like I was on holiday with them, and the more I read, the more I questioned, in the same way Jane did.

This review is somewhat waffle to a degree, but without plot spoilers it’s hard to put into words. What I will say is that the book is utterly gripping, enthralling and rather creepy in a very dark way. There were moments this book scared the bejeesus out of me, and moments when I wanted to slap many of the characters to get a grip. Overall a book I read in a day, and one I di9dn’t want to put down. This was an excellent second book from Cally Taylor, a solid 5 star read and one that I loved and would highly recommend. 

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:

Comments

Add a comment